Tuesday, April 8, 2008

Poll Results:

The results of Northstar Basketball's first two polls were certainly interesting. The voters selected Memphis as the future 2008 NCAA Champion, with the Tigers receiving nine of the 23 votes. The North Carolina Tar Heels came in a close second, with eight votes. The UCLA Bruins picked up five votes, while Kansas was selected just once. Well, I guess poll results don't predict actual results, as the Kansas Jayhawks were the national champs.
The other poll was asking you to pick the best player in the nation in the class of 2008. Tyreke Evans was the winner, with 13 of the 50 votes, while Brandon Jennings picked up second place, with 10 votes. Behind Jennings was the option of "Other," which was chosen nine times. Next up were Greg Monroe and Jrue Holiday, both receiving six votes and tying for fourth place. Recent Tennessee-commit Scotty Hopson ended up in sixth, with three votes, and Samardo Samuels tallied just a pair of votes. Surprisingly, Demar DeRozan was selected just once, and BJ Mullens got absolutely no love, as not one of the 50 votes went to the future Buckeye. Clearly, you all feel that there's nothing better than a playmaking point guard, evidenced by Evans and Jennings finishing one-two in the voting. We'll see how the class of 2008 fairs at the college level next.

No comments: